Welcome to


"where time stands still"


New Churchyard (God's Acre)

At the turn of the century a new churchyard was opened near the cricket field because there was a lack of burial space in the main churchyard. The land was donated by Julia Warde-Aldam in 1901, and the Lych Gate was built in 1903. The Archbishop of York consecrated both the new churchyard and Lych Gate.

(Visitors can read the appropriate inscriptions under the Lych Gate)